Sunday, December 4, 2011

Dear World, It's Me—Roscoe!

Hello, world! My name is Roscoe and I’m looking for my forever family.

"I'm Roscoe! Pleased to meet'cha!"
My first family gave me up to a shelter either because they were moving or because they couldn’t afford vet bills. Either way, I was sad because at the shelter I didn’t get to spend any time hanging with humans—which is my favorite thing.

I had been there two months when Project Rescue Chicago discovered me. PRC took me outside and it was so nice to finally stretch out in the sun and get belly rubs. I was in heaven. Before I knew it, I got the best ride of my life—a ride away from the shelter. I knew I was on my way to a better life.

But, sadly, my troubles weren’t over just yet. When PRC took me to the vet, they found out that I had a bad case of heartworm.

"Boo crate rest; hooray no heartworm!"
It was a terrible time to have heartworm—there was a medicine shortage because some factory shut down or something. But PRC and some amazing volunteers scoured the ends of the Earth and found me the precious medicine!

After two months of treatment and bed rest, I was totally cured! Now I’m as healthy as can be. I love to run and I just learned how to swim.

As you can tell from my pictures, I’m a pretty dapper dude with my one blue eye, athletic build and shiny coat.

I’ve even got this cool white thunderbolt on the back of my neck. Speaking of lighting, I should warn you that I may steal some of your thunder. People actually stop me on the street to comment on how good-looking I am.

My foster sister is a hound/pointer like me and we get along great. We like to run, wrestle and steal chew toys from each other. I love to hang out and watch movies.

I’m also into yoga—I let my front legs fall off the bed, then I walk out so my hind legs are on the very edge of the mattress for an awesome stretch. I adore car rides and every day I get better on the leash.

When my foster parents are out of the house, I stay in my crate and chomp on my peanut-butter-filled Kong. I snuggle at bedtime, but after an hour, I usually go to my crate to curl up for the night. I’m pretty close to being fully potty trained—I can hold it until 8:30am!

As I'm about to become a free agent, here are my vital stats:
  • Breed: Hound, Australian shepherd mix (We think the shepherd half gives me my coloring and my one blue eye, and the hound part keeps my hair short and gives me my athletic profile.)
  • Gender: Male
  • Age: ~1.5 years
  • Weight: 67 lbs.
  • Vaccinations: Yes
  • Microchipped: Yes
  • Dog friendly: Yes
  • Cat friendly: I do great with my foster brother cat, but I get a little curious with cats I don’t know, so I need to be supervised when I meet a new cat.
  • Favorite foods: Ice cubes! Duck and beef treats.
  • Food aggressive: No
  • Awesome: Absolutely!

"What?! You want to meet me?! I'm coming!!"

Can’t wait to meet you!


Many thanks to Roscoe's foster parents, Meaghan and David, for taking dictation from Roscoe so he could share his story. To learn more about meeting or adopting Roscoe, please complete an application with Project Rescue Chicago.

No comments:

Post a Comment